Free Consultation

All fields are required. The use of this form for communication with our personnel does not establish an attorney-client relationship.

  •   ›  
  •   ›  
  • I Was Charged with Possession of Marijuana in Florida – Now What?

I Was Charged with Possession of Marijuana in Florida – Now What?

Charged with possession of marijuana in Florida? Though this is one of the most widely used banned substances in the Sunshine State, it’s absolutely crucial not to take these charges lightly. Because cannabis is classified as a Schedule 1 drug in the state, meaning it’s one of the most dangerous drugs, the criminal charges can be severe.

So what can you be charged with? The most frequent offenses include the following:

  • Marijuana possession – Simple
  • Marijuana possession – Felony
  • Trafficking marijuana
  • Cultivation of marijuana

If successfully convicted of any of these charges, you may face severe penalties that damage your reputation and create a criminal record. This is why it’s so crucial to work with a Florida marijuana criminal attorney that you can trust. 

How Being Charged with Marijuana in Florida Works

In the state of Florida, possession of 20 grams of marijuana or more is considered a felony, and possession of any amount under 20 grams is considered a misdemeanor. Aside from being charged with possession of an illicit substance, you could also be accused of driving under the influence of drugs, as marijuana can impair your ability to drive.

A conviction of possession of marijuana – even if only a misdemeanor – can have major repercussions in your life. It can disqualify you from financial aid at school, government housing, loan and grant approval, various job applications, and more. Under Florida law, you could even lose your license and privilege to drive for up to two years!

Penalties for a marijuana offense include:

  • Up to 1 year in jail and a fine not to exceed $1,000 for a misdemeanor of the first degree.
  • Up to 5 years in jail and a fine not to exceed $5,000 for a felony of the third degree.
  • Up to 15 years in jail and a fine not to exceed $10,000 for a felony of the second degree marijuana offense.
  • Up to 30 years in jail and fines not to exceed $10,000 for a felony of the first offense.

When arrested and charged with a drug possession crime in Florida, retaining criminal attorney Evan A. Hoffman is crucial to defend your case. Criminal attorney Evan A. Hoffman works closely with you to defend your innocence and examines the State of Florida’s burden of proving use and possession. Charged with possession of an illicit substance in Florida? Then work with an experienced criminal attorney to get the defense you deserve, and contact The Hoffman Firm today.

Comments (0)

Add a Comment



Allowed tags: <b><i><br>Add a new comment:

Free Consultation

All fields are required. The use of this form for communication with our personnel does not establish an attorney-client relationship.

Evan A. Hoffman

Evan A. Hoffman

Mr. Hoffman’s philosophy is "our knowledge and experience is your best defense." He has been a featured author on criminal law issues such as driving under the influence, domestic violence and illegal searches.

Read More

If you received any kind of traffic violation in the Miami area call The Hoffman Firm today.

Find out more
Our Office in Miami

Visit Our Office

66 West Flagler St. #950 Miami, FL 33130
convenient office locations in Miami and North Miami