Have you been charged with reckless driving? If so, then don’t make the common mistake of discounting it as a simple traffic violation. Reckless driving is a serious crime that can carry penalties as heavy as third-degree felonies, and up to five (5) years in prison.
To combat these charges, you need a defense lawyer with courtroom experience and a reputation for aggressively defending his clients. Evan A. Hoffman is the lawyer for you.
If you are fighting a reckless driving charge, you need to consult with an attorney as soon as possible. South Florida criminal attorney Evan A. Hoffman has experience defending clients against a variety of traffic violations including reckless driving charges.
Evan A. Hoffman can walk you through the legal process and explain the several ways to disprove reckless driving. He will examine the facts of your case to determine if such a defense is possible for you.
If you have been charged with reckless driving and live in the Miami area, call The Hoffman Firm at (305) 249-0090 for your free consultation to discuss your options. This firm accepts clients in North Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, and a number of neighboring areas.
- Reckless driving defined under Florida Code
- Penalties associated with reckless driving
- More information on reckless driving
Definition of Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is described in Florida code 316.1925 as:
(1) Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving. (b) Fleeing a law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle is reckless driving per se.
Penalties for Reckless Driving
First offense reckless driving is charged as a second-degree misdemeanor. The penalties for a first offense reckless driving conviction are any combination of the following:
- Up to Ninety (90) days in jail;
- Up to six months (6) of probation;
- A fine of up to $500; or
- A combination of the previously stated penalties.
Reckless driving with a prior conviction is also a second-degree misdemeanor. Penalties for those convicted of reckless driving with a prior conviction are any combination of the following:
- Up to Six (6) months in jail,
- Up to Six (6) months of probation, or
- A minimum fine of $50 and a maximum fine of $500.
Reckless driving causing property damage is a first-degree misdemeanor. Penalties for those convicted of reckless driving causing property damage are any combination of the following:
- Up to Twelve (12) months in jail,
- Up to Twelve (12) months of probation, or
- A fine up to $1,000.
Reckless driving causing serious bodily injury is a third-degree felony punishable as a level 4 offense under Florida’s sentencing guidelines. Penalties for those convicted of reckless driving causing serious bodily Injury are any combination of the following:
- A maximum sentence of Five (5) years in prison,
- Five (5) years of probation, or
- A fine up to $5,000.
More Information on Reckless Driving in Florida
The Florida Senate- This state government site provides full statutes on reckless driving, careless driving, and other traffic violations.
DMV.org- This organization provides information on traffic fines and costs associated with traffic law violations.
As cited above, reckless driving is not a charge to be taken lightly. You need to be proactive by getting help from an experienced criminal defense lawyer like Evan Hoffman so that you will have the best possible chance of beating your charges.
Give The Hoffman Firm a call today at (305) 249-0090 and they can schedule a free consultation with you. These services are available to individuals in Miami-Dade County, North Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, and close areas.