Fort Lauderdale Carrying a Concealed Weapon Attorney
Ready to Help You Avoid Serious Criminal Penalties
Every American has a right to keep and bear arms, according to the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution. However, there are certain limitations to this right. For example, you need to possess a valid Concealed Weapons Permit to carry concealed firearms or weapons in Florida. If you are caught carrying a concealed weapon without a license, you may be charged with a weapons offense. A conviction can result in a lengthy prison term or fines worth thousands of dollars.
If you have been arrested for carrying a concealed weapon without a license, let The Hoffman Firm protect your rights and freedom from serious criminal charges. Attorney Evan Hoffman can thoroughly examine your case, figure out your available legal options, and help you obtain the most favorable result in court.
Call 954-737-3004 or fill out our online contact form today to schedule a free consultation.
Laws & Penalties for Carrying a Concealed Firearm
According to Florida Statutes section 790.001(3)(a), a “concealed weapon” includes brass knuckles, dirks, tear gas guns, chemical weapons, and other deadly weapons that person can hide on their person. Additionally, concealed firearms consist of handguns, machine guns, and even firearm accessories like silencers and mufflers.
Keep in mind, there are exceptions to the law regarding carrying concealed weapons. For example, concealed weapons for the purpose of self-defense, such as mace, a dart-firing stun gun, or any other nonlethal electric device or weapon exclusively designed for defense.
It is not unlawful for someone to carry a concealed weapon at his/her home or place of business, or while engaging in lawful hunting, fishing, or camping. You can also carry a concealed weapon inside your vehicle without a permit, so long as the weapon is securely encased (e.g., in the glove compartment or in a gun case) or otherwise not easily accessible for immediate use.
Otherwise, carrying a concealed weapon without a license in Florida is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail term of one year and/or a fine of up to $1,000. On the other hand, carrying a concealed firearm is a third-degree felony, which carries a prison sentence of up to five years and/or a maximum fine of $5,000.
Schedule a Free Consultation
In order to be convicted of carrying concealed weapon in Florida, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you committed the crime. Attorney Hoffman will do whatever it takes to apply the necessary defenses to contest the charge against you and help you either get your entire case dismissed or your penalties reduced to avoid spending any time behind bars.
Contact us today at 954-737-3004 to speak with a Fort Lauderdale weapons offense attorney.
Why Should You Hire The Hoffman Firm? Here Are a Few Reasons:
Client-Focused RepresentationOur Firm is dedicated to client satisfaction. We are available 24/7 to help those in need.
Decades of ExperienceAttorney Evan Hoffman has over two decades of experience fighting for the accused.
Premier Criminal Defense FirmExperienced Attorney Evan Hoffman has handled some of the most high profile and complex cases.
Proven Track RecordClient satisfaction is our top priority. At The Hoffman Firm we take great pride in our success and case victories.
Florida Former State ProsecutorAttorney Evan Hoffman has extensive knowledge of the strategies used by prosecutors throughout Florida.
Free Initial ConsultationWe offer free initial consultations to ensure that we have your best interests in mind.