The Hoffman Firm The Hoffman Firm
DUI

Put a Skilled and Trial-Proven Attorney in Your Corner

Lawyer for First DUI Arrests in Miami

Client Focused & Available Attorney in Fort Lauderdale

Being charged with driving under the influence, commonly referred to as “DUI,” can be a life-altering event. A DUI conviction could permanently tarnish a person’s record, disqualify them from certain employment opportunities, and make it difficult for them to meet important financial obligations such as caring for their family. It can also result in a person’s license being suspended, hefty fines, or a prison sentence. As you can see, being charged with DUI is not a joking matter.

When faced with these consequences, you need help and advice from an experienced Miami first DUI defense attorney at The Hoffman Firm with a proven track record of success. Evan Hoffman is a former criminal prosecutor and has experience litigating many types of DUI cases.


Don’t take your criminal charges lightly. Enlist the help of an aggressive and experienced lawyer by calling (305) 928-1669 if you are Miami, 954-737-3004 if you are in Broward County, or contacting us online


Understanding First DUI Charges in Florida

Under Florida Statue §316.193(1), a person commits a DUI offense if he or she is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within Florida and either:

  • The person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in Florida Statute §877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893 to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired;
  • The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or
  • The person has a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.

Penalties for First DUI Offenses

A first DUI offense is generally classified as a second-degree misdemeanor. Florida Statute §316.193(2)(a) establishes that a first conviction for DUI can result in up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of at least $500, but it can range up to $1,000.

Alleged offenders can also have their driver’s licenses suspended for up to six months. If a person refused to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test, a first refusal can result in a suspension of one year and subsequent refusals can lead to 18-month suspensions of driver’s licenses. Individuals have only 10 days to request a formal hearing to avoid an automatic suspension. 

What Additional Orders May Be Imposed?

In addition to the aforementioned punishments, a court may also impose any of the following orders:

  • Participate in public service or a community work project for a minimum of 50 hours;
  • Up to one year of probation;
  • Impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle that was operated by or in the actual control of the alleged offender or any one vehicle registered in the alleged offender’s name at the time of impoundment or immobilization for a period of 10 days or for the unexpired term of any lease or rental agreement that expires within 10 days; and
  • Attend a Level I DUI program.

If an alleged offender had a BAC of 0.15 or higher, a first DUI conviction is punishable by up to nine months in jail and/or a fine of at least $1,000, but it can be as high as $2,000. Additionally, a court may order the placement, at the alleged offender’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device (IDD) for at least six continuous months upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the alleged offender.

When alleged offenders who were arrested for DUI have not been in any previous legal trouble for alleged drunk driving, they may be eligible for diversion programs that could allow them to have criminal charges dismissed upon successful completion of the programs. While many people experiencing their first DUI arrests assume that they will be forced to plead guilty and be at the mercy of the court, the truth is that any one of a number of factors in how the arrest was handled could lead to criminal charges possible being minimized or eliminated.

We’re Available When You Need Us Most

At The Hoffman Firm, our Miami first DUI defense attorney is available to discuss your case and answer legal questions on weekends and after hours. We understand the stress and embarrassment associated with these types of charges and our attorney will put his 20+ years of experience to work for you.


For a free consultation, call (305) 928-1669 today if you are in Miami. Call 954-737-3004 if today if you are in Broward County. We also assist clients in Fort Lauderdale. 


Why Should You Hire The Hoffman Firm? Here Are a Few Reasons:

  • Client-Focused Representation
    Our Firm is dedicated to client satisfaction. We are available 24/7 to help those in need.
  • Decades of Experience
    Attorney Evan Hoffman has over two decades of experience fighting for the accused.
  • Premier Criminal Defense Firm
    Experienced Attorney Evan Hoffman has handled some of the most high profile and complex cases.
  • Proven Track Record
    Client satisfaction is our top priority. At The Hoffman Firm we take great pride in our success and case victories.
  • Florida Former State Prosecutor
    Attorney Evan Hoffman has extensive knowledge of the strategies used by prosecutors throughout Florida.
  • Free Initial Consultation
    We offer free initial consultations to ensure that we have your best interests in mind.

START YOUR DEFENSE

We Will Fight to Protect Your Future
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.